What's the difference between bourbon and whiskey?

All bourbon is whiskey, but not all whiskey is bourbon. Bourbon is made in the USA, it is made with at least 51 percent corn and aged in a special barrel. If the bourbon is labeled Kentucky Bourbon then it was distilled in Kentucky.

---

Bourbon is a type of whiskey. To be classified as bourbon, a whiskey must be made from at least 51% corn, be made in the United States, be aged in new, charred American white oak barrels, and be at least 80 proof.