Why do people have brown eyes?

The brown color comes from melanin, the same pigment that colors the skin and makes a suntan. People with other colors of eyes generally lack melanin or have only small amounts.

---

Eye color is directly related to the amount of melanin in the front layers of the iris. People with brown eyes have a large amount of melanin in the iris, while people with blue eyes have much less of this pigment. A particular region on chromosome 15 plays a major role in eye color.