Who is miss scarpetta?

Kay Scarpetta is a fictional character, inspired by former Virginia Chief Medical Examiner Marcella Farinelli Fierro, MD (retired). She is the protagonist in a series of crime novels written by Patricia Cornwell, noted for its use of recent forensic technology in Scarpetta's investigations.