Does baking powder go bad?

Baking powder will not go bad but it will lose its potency over time. So your cakes and other baking won't rise as they should. It's a good idea to replace old baking powder after about 1 year.

---

Baking powder is a combination of baking soda, cream of tartar, and cornstarch and should last somewhere from 6 to 12 months. To test if it is okay, stir half a teaspoon baking powder into a cup of hot water. It will start to fizz if still fresh enough to use.