Is v. a. d. a word?

V.A.D., also just called Vad, as per the Mayo clinic website, is a ventricular assist device which may also be known as a mechanical circulatory support device. It is a device that helps pump blood from the lower chambers of your heart (ventricles) to the rest of your body.