What's the difference between a diamond and a cubic zirconia?

A diamond is the hardest stone known to man while a cubic zirconia has a much lower rating of hardness. Diamonds are made of carbon which lends to their brilliance and hardness. Diamonds are much more expensive than cubic zirconia also.