What is tahini sauce?

Tahini is made by grinding sesame seeds into a smooth paste. Sometimes the sesame seeds are hulled, sometimes they're left unhulled; sometimes roasted, sometimes raw. It is served by itself or as a major ingredient in hummus, baba ghanoush, and halva.