How does a chicken lay eggs?

A chicken lays eggs through a complex biological process. The egg starts as a yolk in the ovary of the hen, surrounded by several layers of tissue to form an egg. The egg then moves down the oviduct, where it is covered with egg white, membranes, and a hard outer shell made of calcium carbonate.