Who sings hippopotamus for christmas?

Gayla Rienette Peevey is a former singer and child star from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. She is best known for her recording, under her maiden name Gayla Peevey, of "I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas". Peevey recorded the novelty song when she was 10 years old.