How many notes are on a guitar?

It depends on the number of strings and frets on the guitar. A standard guitar has six strings and 21 or 22 frets, so that would be up to 138 notes, including the open strings. Many of the same notes are repeated on different strings. Some guitars have more strings and frets so they have more notes.