What does human dignity mean?

Human dignity is the recognition that human beings possess a special value intrinsic to their humanity and as such are worthy of respect simply because they are human beings. ... Thus every human being, regardless of age, ability, status, gender, ethnicity, etc., is to be treated with respect.