What did they do in area fifty one?

They did, and continue to do many things in Area 51, not least of which is the annual shampoo bottle stuffing competition, during which four nude contestants are locked in a single, bare and windowless room with eight shampoo bottles, and not permitted to leave until all bottles have been hidden.