What's in chai tea?

Chai means tea in many languages, such as Hindi And Urdu. Chai can be any kind of tea, although it typically refers to black tea boiled with milk and sugar. In North America, "Chai" usually refers to "Masala Chai," in which spices such as cardamom, cinnamon, and cloves are added.