How long is uncooked beef good for in the fridge?

The rate of food spoilage bacteria growth varies based on the exact refrigerator temperature, which also tends to vary. Sensitivity to the toxins produced by these bacteria also depends on the individual. The US FDA suggests only 1-2 days for ground beef, and 3-5 days for whole beef, like steaks.