Is as well one word or two words?

No matter how you use it, the expression “as well” is always two words, despite the fact that many people seem to think it should be spelled aswell. Examples: “I don't like plastic trees as well as real ones for Christmas.” “Now that we've opened our stockings, let's open our other presents as well