Is a dog's mouth cleaner than a human?

This is an urban myth. Unless you have an unusually clean dog or an unusually dirty person, a dog's mouth needs cleaning just the same as a human's does. Not cleaning your dogs mouth can lead to gum and tooth infections, tooth decay and possible expensive veterinary bills.