Why is the soccer field called a pitch?

A soccer field is called a pitch because when soccer first became popular in England in the 19th century, teams often played games on a cricket pitch. When soccer began to use designated soccer fields, the term used to describe the playing surface stuck, and a soccer field was called a soccer pitch.