What is the answer to life in the universe?

The number 42 is, in The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, the "Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything," calculated by an enormous supercomputer named Deep Thought over a period of 7.5 million years.

---

At present, life outside earth is unknown. Statistically, however, life is probably abundant in the universe. Life can be defined as self replicating. Intelligent life can be defined as the ability to communicate with radio waves, for example.