What are midichlorians?

Midi-chlorians were microscopic, intelligent life forms that originated in the center of the galaxy, and ultimately resided within the cells of all living organisms, forming a symbiotic relationship with their hosts. The Force spoke through the midi-chlorians to those sensitive enough to its powers.