How long should you boil eggs?

For hard boiled eggs, you should place the eggs in a pot and fill with cold water to about an inch over the top of the eggs, then add a teaspoon of vinegar, bring it just to a boil then turn off the heat and let sit for 10-12 minutes. Shock with cold water to finish