How did chernobyl happen?

During a safety test reactor 4 was accidentally shutdown instead of run at reduced power. Design flaws caused a nuclear chain reaction resulting in a core meltdown and multiple explosions, which exposed the core to the air and released radioactive contaminants into the atmosphere.