How do you pick a good grapefruit?

It should feel plump and heavy, as if it’s about to burst with sweet grapefruit juice. In general, ripe citrus will have smooth, thin skin. Give the grapefruit a nice squeeze to see if it’s firm. Firm all the way around is a good sign. If there are any soft spots, it’s probably going bad.

---

The grapefruit should be heavy and fragrant.