What is the average size of a cat litter?

The average litter size is 3 to 5 kittens, but a young mother, or a first time mother can expect to have around 2 to 3 kittens. At 3 to 4 years old a cat will be more likely to have around 4 to 5 kittens per litter, although this also depends on how often she is bred.