What position is w. r. in football?

A wide receiver (WR), also referred to as a wideout, formerly a split end, is an eligible receiver in gridiron football. A key skill position of the offense, it gets its name from the player being split out "wide" (near the sidelines), farthest away from the rest of the offensive formation