When was the internet released to the public?

The public was introduced to the internet in 1969 by UCLA by a press release. But, it was not accessible to the public until August, 1991. Generally, people were unaware of it. In 1993, CERN announced it was free. From there, a browser was developed which allows you to view the internet.