Who fought in the battle of midway?

The battle of Midway was fought between the United States and the Japanese Imperial Navy’s west northwest of the tiny island of Midway located in the Pacific Ocean. The battle was a major victory for the United States, with Japan losing their carrier fleet, thus turning the war in the USA’s favor