What animal is animal from the muppets?

Animal, from the Muppets, is fictional. he is not based on a real animal.

---

The humunoid Muppets are not necessarily based on actual animals, but the Muppet, 'Animal', gets his name from being a wild hairy creature that loves to play the drums.