How is the grand canyon formed?

Sixty million years ago, the Rocky Mountains and the entire Colorado Plateau rose up from tectonic activity. After the top layers of rock eroded away, the Colorado River grew powerful and began to cut its way through the ancient rock, leaving the stunning canyon we see today.