What's the purpose of horseshoes?

Horses wear shoes primarily to strengthen and protect the hooves and feet, and to prevent the hooves from wearing down too quickly. Much like our finger and toenails, a horse's hooves will grow continually if not trimmed

---

A horseshoe is nailed onto a horses' shoe, with special horseshoe nails, to keep the horses' shoe stronger, especially if they are constantly running over rough terrain. Periodically they must be changed by a ferrier, or a smith, who is a specialist who replaces the horses' shoes.