What is the opposite of a compliment?

A compliment is intended to praise character traits, behaviours or other things such as a persons possessions or accomplishments. The opposite of a compliment is criticism.

---

There are many words that can be used to describe the opposite of a compliment though "insult" would be the most direct opposite of a compliment.