Is v. e. l. a word?

Yes, "vel," spelled V-E-L, is a word in English, though it's a rather specialized one. It refers to a symbol in logical notation which resembles a letter V, and represents the "inclusive or." Vel is also the name of a divine spear in Hindu mythos, though in that case it's a proper noun.