How do you calculate how far away lightning is?

If you count the number of seconds between the flash of lightning and the sound of thunder, and then divide by 5, you'll get the distance in miles to the lightning: 5 seconds = 1 mile, 15 seconds = 3 miles, 0 seconds = very close. Keep in mind that you should be in a safe place while counting.

---

Lightning bolts can travel many miles in multiple directions especially in cloud-to-cloud bolts. Trying to calculate by counting the time between the flashes you see and what you hear can be misleading, but typically the sound of one single cloud to ground bolt will travel 1 mile in 5 seconds.