Is knuckles faster than sonic?

No Sonic is faster. As a matter of fact, the rate of Knuckles' strength is equal to the rate of how fast Sonic can run. Because Sonic can run between Mach 1 and Mach 5, that would mean that Knuckles can effectively lift between 100 and 500 metric tons.