Why is it important to eat meat?

Meat is important in your diet because it is a protein-rich food that supplies you with all the essential amino acids you need for good health. However, you can get protein from other foods like soybean-based products, such as tofu and tempeh, nuts, beans, lentils, and leafy greens like spinach.

---

It is not necessary to eat meat so long as you get plenty of protein from other sources, such as beans & peas. You need the protein, not necessarily the type of food.