Why are canadian geese protected?

Yes, Canada Geese are protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 (MBCA). ... The Act gives the federal government the responsibility to establish hunting seasons, and Canada Geese are greatly appreciated by migratory game bird hunters across the country.

---

It is highly advised never to get into a fight with a Canadian goose. The goose will usually win.