Can plastic get moldy?

Plastic cannot mold itself nor will mold grow on plastic because it is not a source of organic nutrients. Any mold present must rely on remaining bits of food or other organic matter from which to gain sustenance and grow. The way to prevent mold is to wash the plastic container thoroughly.