What happened in selma alabama?

On March 7, 1965, hundreds of people gathered in Selma, Alabama to march to the capital city of Montgomery in an effort to ensure that African Americans could exercise their constitutional right to vote — even in the face of a segregationist system that wanted to make it impossible.