Why is pat sajak not hosting?

November 8,2019, it was revealed that the gameshow host underwent emergency surgery to correct a blocked intestine. After Pat’s health scare, producers came to Vanna and asked if she’d feel comfortable taking over temporarily as the host — something that she wasn’t exactly thrilled to do.