How old can elephants be?

Wild elephants have long life spans and typically live 60 to 70 years of age. Captive elephants have significantly lower life spans than their wild counterparts and are usually dead before the age of 40.

---

This depends on the type of elephant. Asian elephants can live to 48 years while African bush and forest elephants can live 60-70 years. Wild elephants live three times longer than zoo elephants.