What is the severe thunderstorm watch about?

A severe thunderstorm watch will be issued if there is the potential for the development of a thunderstorm with either wind gusts of 90 km/h or greater, hail with a diameter of two centimetres or greater, or heavy rainfall (with 50 millimetres or more within one hour).