What's the meaning of the song cotton eye joe?

There is much debate as to what “cotton eye” actually refers to. Some believe that it means to be drunk on moonshine. Others think that it refers to the contrast between dark skin and white eyeballs. Another theory is that Cotton Eye Joe had a disease that turned his eyes milky white